Our Board

Kayla Stephenson


Kayla Stephenson became a board member for North Peel Dufferin Community Legal Services clinic in 2018, after a year of being a non-voting board member in 2017. Kayla was elected as Board President of NPDCLS in 2020. Kayla has a Paralegal educational background and is a certified Mediator and Arbitrator with a specialty in Family Law. Kayla has Certificates from Osgoode Hall Law School Professional Development in Provincial Offences Court Practice and Adjudication for Administrative Agencies, Boards & Tribunals. As well as Judicial and Administrative Tribunal Competencies from the Ontario Bar Association.

Kayla has over 16 years of experience in the legal field, and of those years, 8 of them Kayla was employed by the Ministry of Attorney General, in various roles. Kayla is currently employed with the City of Brampton in the POA court. Kayla is also a part-time Adjudicator with the City of Toronto, and Kayla was also appointed in 2021 by Order in Council to the Health Services Appeals and Review Board as a part-time Adjudicator. Kayla is an Executive Member of the Community Legal Clinics of Ontario (ACLCO). Kayla is also Co-Chair of the Race Equity and Advisory Committee of the ACLCO. Kayla has a passion for equity, social justice, advocacy, and access to justice. Kayla values the hard work of NPDCLS and all other legal clinics and the positive effect each clinic has on assisting all communities with having access to justice.

Nayan Thaker


Nayan Thaker is a Chartered Professional Accountant (CPA), and currently the Finance Manager at WellFort, a community health centre in Brampton. Nayan has a long history in volunteer director roles for a variety of professional and community organizations.

Shaimaa Abousidou


Shaimaa Abousidou joined our board of directors in 2014. Shaimaa was elected Secretary of the Board in June 2018. She maintains an interest in poverty law issues experienced by individuals and communities, and values the legal clinic’s work in providing legal services, as well as services related to public legal education, law reform and outreach, for the community.

Shaimaa has a B.A. (Hons) in Health Studies and Political Science from McMaster University and an M.A. in Public Policy and Administration from Ryerson University. Currently, she is a Policy Analyst in the Ontario Public Service.

Sukhbir Kaur


Sukhbir joined our Board of Directors in 2017.  Sukhbir has worked with various social service organizations serving the needs of new immigrants, homelessness, addictions, mental health and domestic violence issues. She has also participated in outreach and research projects with Ryerson and York universities on developing a comprehensive understanding of elder abuse prevention in immigrant communities.

Sukhbir has a BSW (Honours) in Social Work from Ryerson University and Master of Social Work from the University of Windsor.  She has completed a myriad of trainings to build her skills and knowledge as a clinician. Currently, she is working as a registered social worker at the Canadian Mental Health Association. She also teaches courses at Sheridan College.

Monty Laskin


Monty Laskin joined our board of directors in 2020. Monty is CEO of Caledon Community Services.

Shaneil Stewart


Shaneil Stewart joined our board of directors in 2020. Shaneil has a B.A. in Sociology from Wilfrid Laurier University and also a post graduate certificate from Humber College in Alternative Dispute Resolution. She is trained as a mediator and in conflict resolution management. She has volunteered for labour unions and has interests in empowering workers to participate and engage in workers’ rights.

Marjorie Rasquinha


Marjorie joined our Board of Directors in 2020. Marjorie has a B.A (Hons) in Political Science as well as a Masters of Public Policy, Administration, and Law from York University. Currently, she works with RBC in Toronto.

Nana Amponsah


Nana joined our board in September 2020. She is Senior Legal Counsel at Infrastructure Ontario.

Veronica Fazio


Veronica K. Rodie-Fazio is an International Wedding & Event Planner of Veronica Events Inc., Editor-in-Chief of The Wedding Planner Lifestyle Magazine, and Turkey Destination Wedding Ambassador in Canada. 

She is also a published and featured wedding expert for, A media talent, Award Winning Community Leader, and a dynamic and Inspirational Speaker at Wedding & Bridal Conferences Globally. Twice nominated RBC Woman of the Year in 2013 & 2016 and is the first Wedding Planner to produce The Platinum Bridal Show in Canada. 

Veronica is featured in Brides Magazine UK, as one of the TOP International Destination Wedding Planners and Last Call Magazine tapped her as an Editorial Contributor on planning Interracial and Diverse Weddings in Canada. 

Featured by Wedding Business Canada and PRNewswire, one of the most influential global blogs. In addition, she is a double certified International Association of Destination Wedding Planners (IADWP) Love Mexico Specialist. Veronica was most recently appointed the exclusive Canadian Sales Manager for Spain Inside, a luxury Destination Travel Company and the Canadian Chapter President of the International Wedding Planning Institute (IWAP) representing Canada, working with local Travel Agents, International Travel Partners, and Wedding Planners worldwide.  

In addition, she is a Homeless and Domestic Violence Advocate for over 11 years, sits on the  Board of Directors, is a Fund Raiser, and an active volunteer of organizations in Canada that are close to her heart. 

Kate Paisley


Kate graduated from the University of Toronto with a degree in Criminology and Socio-legal studies. Kate is a member of the Youth Justice Committee for the Associated Youth Services of Peel. She is passionate about social justice and making a difference in her community